Left nav goes here

Contact: Beth Day
(404) 879-5544
Released: 5/3/2012

SREB Legislative Report Recaps State Sessions, Bills and Budget Actions on Education

ATLANTA — The Southern Regional Educational Board’s third 2012 Legislative Report is available online now. The report summarizes final legislative and budget actions related to public education (pre-K through higher ed) in Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Virginia and West Virginia. It also includes updates from Alabama, Kentucky and Maryland.

"Several states passed bills that aim at promoting innovation to improve student performance and progress, including dual enrollment and other accelerated learning options, charter schools and virtual education," said Gale Gaines, SREB vice president of State Services.

Final legislative actions in SREB states will appear in future Legislative Reports.

SREB State Services is a resource for current information on trends, issues and specific state actions related to education in the 16 SREB member states. SREB staff members meet with state leaders during their legislative sessions to provide helpful policy and research as well as information about actions in other states. SREB’s Legislative Advisory Council meets to examine key education topics. State Services also publishes a series of reports:

Legislative Reports present the most recent governors’ proposals, current legislative actions, bills and funding for education. They are published approximately monthly during the legislative sessions.

The Legislative Briefing summarizes actions across the SREB region by topic.

Focus Reports take a deeper look at timely issues.

Media, legislators, governors’ staff, state agencies and policy leaders may contact Gale Gaines, vice president of State Services, at (404) 875-9211 or gale.gaines@sreb.org.

The Southern Regional Education Board, or SREB, was created in 1948 by Southern governors and legislatures to help leaders in education and government work cooperatively to advance education and improve the social and economic life of the region. SREB’s 16 member states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. SREB is based in Atlanta. More: www.SREB.org.

Southern Regional Education Board
592 10th Street NW
Atlanta, GA 30318-5776
(404) 875-9211

For additional information, please e-mail communications@sreb.org